Building a stronger digital backbone to ensure the safety and efficiency of the electricity grid


A series of information systems are used to operate the French power transmission grid in real time. These systems rely on telecommunications infrastructure and different means of gathering and sorting data. All of these components together form the “nervous system” that guarantees that the electricity grid is observable, controllable and protectable. Work has been underway since the 2000s to digitalise these information systems and create a “digital backbone” for the power grid.

As of today, dispatching centres rely on a representation of the state of the power system generated by processing data from more than 40,000 remote meter readings repeated every 10 seconds, and from more than 350,000 remote signal readings produced every time the state of equipment changes. These real-time exchanges of data contribute to the safety of people and property, as well as to the grid’s performance since they allow it to be operated and maintained as close as possible to its technical limits. The boom in variable renewable energies and the ageing of electrical infrastructure are transforming how the power system is operated and maintained.

Closer look

Better understanding

Control and command


At the local level, substations have control and command equipment that continuously gathers data on the condition of electrical components. This equipment is the technical cornerstone of grid protection, observation and command operations. It interfaces with the telecommunication network to enable the transmission of data related to these different functions. Control and command equipment has been rolled out over time, integrating different stages of technological advances.
Initially designed based on electromechanical relays and then on electronic cards, today’s control and command systems rely on calculators and digital equipment.

The digitalisation of substations began in 2007 and will be completed between 2035 and 2040.

As of 2020, 36% of RTE substations had been digitalised.

Closer look

Better understanding

Telecommunication networks


Power systems rely on telecommunication networks to transmit data and orders between different levels (from the local to the national scales), and between system operators (French or European) and with system users (generators, consumers and distributors).
This is a field in which technology is evolving very rapidly. Over time, RTE’s telecommunication infrastructure has been upgraded to take advantage of available technologies and the services they provide (latency, resilience, service guarantee). Since the 2000s, fibre optics has been the preferred technology for telecontrol services.

Closer look

Better understanding

Control and monitoring


Control and monitoring systems guarantee the observability and controllability of the power system by aggregating all data gathered from the different points on the network.
RTE has access in real time to all data on the topology and electrical values characteristic of the system’s operation. This data is processed with analysis and decision-support tools, and orders that will make the power system function properly are sent out to the local level via automated or manual orders to the different components making up the power system.
Most of the existing information systems date back to the 2000s and are constantly being upgraded to keep pace with the growing quantity of data that needs processing (rise in the number of entities to be monitored) and new options for real-time analyses and action made possible by greater use of automation on the system.

Closer look

Better understanding

Renforcer l’ossature numérique pour garantir la sureté et la performance du réseau électrique


 
Le fonctionnement du réseau de transport d’électricité français, repose sur un ensemble de systèmes d’information qui permet son exploitation en temps réel. Ces systèmes sont adossés à des moyens de télécommunication et à un ensemble de dispositifs visant à capter et trier l’information. Tous ces éléments constituent un «système nerveux» qui garantit l’observabilité, la commandabilité et la protégeabilité du réseau électrique. Depuis les années 2000, ces systèmes d’information sont en cours de numérisation pour former une «ossature numérique» pour le réseau électrique.
 
Aujourd’hui, les centres de conduite du réseau (dispatching) s’appuient sur une représentation de l’état du système électrique grâce au traitement de plus de 40 000 télémesures relevées toutes les 10 secondes et de plus de 350000 télésignalisations relevées à chaque changement d’état des matériels. Ces échanges de données en temps réel participent à la sécurité des biens et des personnes et contribuent également à la performance du réseau, en permettant d’exploiter et de maintenir le réseau au plus près de ses limites techniques. L’essor des énergies renouvelables variables et le vieillissement des infrastructures électriques transforment les modes d’exploitation et de maintenance du système électrique.

Focus

Pour mieux comprendre

Le contrôle-commande


Au niveau local, des unités de contrôle-commande sont installées dans chaque poste électrique. Les dispositifs de contrôle-commande, qui captent en continu des informations sur l’état des composants électriques, constituent le socle technique des fonctions de protection, d’observation et de commande du réseau. Ces dispositifs s’articulent avec le réseau de télécommunication, qui permet la transmission des informations associées à ces différentes fonctions. Les dispositifs de contrôle-commande ont été déployés au fil du temps et intègrent différents stades d’avancées technologiques.
D’abord conçus à base de relais électromécaniques puis de cartes électroniques, les systèmes de contrôle-commandes d’aujourd’hui s’appuient sur des calculateurs et des équipements numériques.

La numérisation des postes a débuté en 2007 et aboutira entre 2035 et 2040.
 


 
En 2020, 36 % des postes RTE ont été numérisés.
 

 

Focus

Pour mieux comprendre

Les réseaux de télécommunication


Un système électrique s’appuie sur des réseaux de télécommunication qui assurent l’échange d’informations et d’ordres entre les différents niveaux (de la maille locale à la maille nationale), entre les opérateurs du réseau électrique (français ou européens) et avec les utilisateurs du réseau électrique (producteurs, consommateurs et distributeurs).
Il s’agit d’un domaine où la technologie est très évolutive. Au cours du temps, l’infrastructure de télécommunication de RTE a évolué en fonction des technologies disponibles et du service rendu associé (latence, résilience, garantie de service). Depuis les années 2000, la technologie fibre optique est privilégiée pour les services de téléconduite.

Focus

Pour mieux comprendre

La conduite et la supervision


Les systèmes de conduite et de supervision assurent l’observabilité et la commandabilité du système électrique via l’agrégation de l’ensemble des informations remontées des différents points du réseau.
En temps réel, RTE dispose de toutes les données concernant la topologie et la valeur des grandeurs électriques caractéristiques du fonctionnement du système. Ces données sont traitées au sein d’outils d’analyse et d’aide à la décision et les commandes nécessaires au bon fonctionnement du système électrique sont renvoyées au niveau local via l’envoi d’ordres automatiques ou manuels sur les différents matériels du réseau électrique.
Globalement, les systèmes d’information actuels datent des années 2000 et sont en évolution constante du fait de l’augmentation des données à traiter (augmentation du nombre d’entités à superviser) et des nouvelles possibilités d’analyse et d’action en temps réel via la généralisation des automates.

Focus

Pour mieux comprendre